Hermione’s Bookshelf

Welcome to the Character’s Bookshelf. This is where I speculate, entirely outside of the space-time continuum and the barriers of language, what books would be a fictional character’s favorites.

Today we’ll be turning our attention to one of my favorite Literary Ladies. You guessed it: Hermione Granger. Hermione is an avid reader, so her favorite books would be so manifold that they are impossible to list. Yet I have hazarded a guess. The idea is that you could read these same books, if you love Hermione as much as I do.

I Am Malala: The Girl Who Stood Up For Education And Was Shot By The Taliban by 17851885Malala Yousafzai

If you’ve read the Harry Potter books carefully and repeatedly, you might remember that Hermione is very spirited and idealistic, and sometimes these traits come through attempts at political activism. Do you remember S.P.E.W, the Society for the Promotion of Elfish Welfare? That was all Hermione’ idea. Another thing Hermione is very passionate about is education; I think this might come from a deep-rooted need to fit in in the Wizarding World as a Muggleborn. The more knowledge she acquires through books, the less her cultural background as a Muggle will be an obstacle. So yes, I think Hermione would be a huge fan of Malala.

I Capture The Castle by Dodie Smith

The main reason this book is on the list is because it’s one of my persona860532l favorites and because I like to think I’m a bit like Hermione. Although I do think Hermione would like it. If you haven’t read I Capture The Castle yet, skip the rest of the paragraph with the summary and just go read it. I promise you it’s a great book.

I Capture The Castle has the romantic setting, romantic entanglements and witty dialogue of a Jane Austen novel, combined with the glamour and pace of the 1940’s. So instead of highly choreographed traditional dancing, the couples are dancing to the swinging music of a gramophone. There’s sibling rivalry and English countryside galore, so pour yourself a cup of tea and start reading. I’m sure Hermione devoured this book when she was twelve, vaguely curious why she kept picturing all the dashing heroes with red hair and freckles.

 

Possession by A.S. Byatt

In the interest of full disclosure I should probably tell you that I’ve never read Possession. That is to say, I never finished it. However, this book’s reputation proceeds it. Possession is said to be a tough nut to crack. When you crack it, though, you get to a scholarly mystery as well as a great love story. Both of these things would be right up Miss Granger’s alley, I’d say.

If any of you want to read Possession and get in touch with me so we can keep each other on track, drop me a line.

The Secret History by Donna Tartt

Yet another scholarly mystery. The Secret History is a story about university life, friendship, peer pressure and murder. What’s not to love? Reading this book made me feel both smart and in on some kind of big secret, and I think Hermione would revel in both those feelings, so this must be a book for her.

Additionally, I can’t help but think Hermione could be great friends with Henry Winter, the linguistics prodigy in The Secret History. After all, Hermione herself loves Ancient Runes.

Mathilda by Roald Dahl 

The whole reason I think Hermione would love, love, love Mathilda is in the blogpost below. Credit goes to if-dementors-were-pink. Thank you for reading!

d9da796c100990f868c62681f11b8c10

3 thoughts on “Hermione’s Bookshelf

    • thefrenchinhaler says:

      It’s a lovely book, one of my favorites of all time. It’s like a modern Jane Austen novel. I remember J.K Rowling mentioned it once in an interview as one of the books that had a big influence on her. Let me know how you like it the second time, and thanks for reading and commenting on my blog!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

