The Reading Habits of a Gryffindor

The sorting of people as well as fictional characters into Hogwarts Houses can be a useful tool for distinguishing personality types. That’s why I’m going to do a bit of sorting in this blogpost, focussing on the ways one’s Hogwarts House relates to one’s reading habits.

My belief that I am a complete Gryffindor was recently reaffirmed. Sometimes, I doubt my House because I am not, in the stereotypically Gryffindor way, impulsive. I do, however, have a very strong sense of right and wrong and I value justice greatly. I am
opinionated, which you’ve probably figured out if you’ve been following this blog for a while. Even in my reading habits, I am a Gryffindor.

Gryffindors are likely to have strong opinions about books, and be vocal about them. These opinions can sometimes lead to heated debates, in which Gryffs rally to the idea of fighting for what they believe in. When they love a book, Gryffs will sing its praises, especially if it calls to the ideals they value most. Disliking a book can split Gryffs into two camps: some may be just as vocal about their distaste as they are with their love, and some may be quieter, but just as committed to sharing their thoughts. Gryffs are also more likely to experience stories on a personal level, and feel comfortable talking about those parallels.” Source: Book Riot

20160206_122216

I have listed some other Gryffindor readers below, just for the fun of it. I think I’m in good company. It’s probably not a coincidence that all of them are on my ever-expanding list of favorite characters. I love Gryffindors. I am, in part, not a Gryffindor because of my own characteristics, but because of the characteristics I value in others. 

Hermione Granger – Harry Potter

I don’t think I need to explain why Hermione is a Gryffindor. If we want to go into the complicated business of secondary Houses, I would categorize her as a GryffinClaw. In the first place, she cares about bravery and justice, but ambition and intelligence are also a large part of her character.

Book Riot: “Analysis is the Ravenclaw’s forte, though that doesn’t mean they lack emotional attachment to books.”

709bdac3db2dda5f4fb2a3a8d03d98c4

Arya Stark and Samwell Tarley – Game Of Thrones

From the Game Of Thrones universe, I would categorize both Arya Stark and Samwell Tarley as Gryffindor readers. I don’t think I really have to explain about Arya; to her, bravery is the most important quality in a person. She might not be much of a reader, but I like to think she’d enjoy adventurous books and would be very driven once a book had captured her attention.

giphy14

Samwell is more difficult to sort. I had a lengthy discussion with my brother on his House. First, we considered Hufflepuff, because Samwell is such a genuinely sweet guy who believes in the value of hard work and loyalty. But let us not forget that Sam stabbed a White Walker with a piece of Dragonglass to protect Gilly. If that isn’t courage I don’t know what is. And, like me, Sam might not be impulsively brave, but he does value bravery in others above all else. So I say he is a Gryffindor.

 

Mohinder Suresh – Heroes

giphy16

Mohinder was always my favorite on Heroes, and not just because he was cute with the glasses. Mohinder was a scientist, always seeking truth and justice and always out to expand his knowledge. When Mohinder believes in something, he fights for it, and when he reads something he believes in he will defend it until the end of times. just think of the way Mohinder went about proving his father’s research and theories on people with powers.

Some Gryffindors, like Ron Weasley, are not readers. If they do read, it is with reluctance and a very limited attention span. However, I will defend Ron until the day I die and his dislike of books and academia makes him no less a Gryffindor. It makes him no less a hero.

 

One thought on “The Reading Habits of a Gryffindor

Leave a Reply

