The Value Of Uncomplicated Enjoyment

Those of you who have been following my blog for a while probably know that I have a tendency to be analytical and critical, sometimes overly much so. Uncomplicated enjoyment is a rarity in my life: I am too full of doubts and thoughts and worry to really take things as they come. It’s an exhausting way to live.

Fortunately, there are a few exceptions to the rule. Sometimes, when I have already fried my brain with complications and what-ifs, I can sit back and just do something for fun. Concerts are an example of this ability I have to let go. An other example is my long-time fandom of Supernatural.

For those of you who don’t know Supernatural, let me tell you: it’s a very straightforward show. Two gorgeous boys travel up and down America in a very impressive muscle-car, fighting to kill monsters and save the world. Meanwhile, they occasionally take a night off to spend some quality time with a busty blonde, or maybe to get really, really drunk. That’s it, that’s the show.

when-jensen-gazed-lovingly-jared

Now, I’m all for suspense of disbelief. Fantasy, horror and science fiction are the things that give me life. But over the course of eleven seasons, Supernatural has managed to become steadily more and more ridiculous, always breaking its own rules.

Each and every season promises it’s viewers the be-all-end-all of supervillains: the Devil, God himself and, in a more recent development, God’s evil sister. I’m not kidding. The show is constantly trying to call its own bluff and this results in hilarity and the assurance that, no matter how often our favorite characters die, they will always return.  Just look at this infographic below.

Apart from wanting to fangirl over Sam and Dean for a bit, my point is this: for some reason, when it comes to Supernatural, I don’t care how ludicrous it gets. The show has stopped being genuinely suspenseful. It is only rarely funny and it’s never surprising. But I don’t care, that’s how much I love the Winchesters.

Tell me in the comments who your fave is: Sam or Dean? Or are you more the Castiel type? My personal answer should be obvious by now. I’m a Sam!-girl all the way.

291fca94ff98437bc341395e1bf633a3

 

 

Leave a Reply

