TV of 2016

December will be a month of looking back. I love revisiting the highlights of the year every December, and this year, for the first time, I have a blog to do it. So today I give you an overview of my favorite TV of 2016.

This Is Us

I’ve written about This Is Us before, and told you how much I loved it. Although I’m a few episodes behind at this point, I still do. Seeing Milo Ventimiglia in the Gilmore Girls Revival only made me more eager to see him be a wonderful Dad in This Is Us. It is the kind of feelgood show I look forward to watching over Christmas break. On top of its loveable characters and excellent plot lines, This Is Us has a wonderfully diverse cast which includes people with obesity being portrayed as actual people. This is great.

Gilmore Girls Revival

I realize now that I have yet to post my detailed analysis of the revival, and I will very soon. Suffice it to say that it was amongst the highlights of my year.

Crazy Ex-Girlfriend

This show, guys. This is such a great show. Do you want laughter, romance, music, dance and feminism, all tightly packed together in a wonderful show starring Rachel Bloom? Then Crazy Ex-Girlfriend is for you. I loved it so much that I’m currently rewatching it with my brother, who also happens to love it. I love it so much I listen to the soundtrack in my spare time. I love it so much I’ve lost the ability to logically explain why I love it, because my love is self-evident to me. I love it so, so much.

Black Mirror

Confession time: I’m more than a little behind when it comes to Black Mirror. I saw White Bear, the second episode of season two, a few weeks ago, and I’m still recovering from that one. This is the problem with Black Mirror. It’s individual episodes are so earth-shatteringly good that I need some time to recover after each one. And then, because there is no overarching plot, I don’t feel compelled to watch the next one as quickly as I do with other shows. That does not mean that Black Mirror isn’t excellent television, and a great example of everything I hope for in science fiction.

Westworld

I have a lot to say about Westworld and no eloquent way to say it. It’s a very good show, for starters. Spellbinding, exciting, always surprising. I don’t want to spoil anything, but it’s like an episode of Black Mirror stretched out over a longer period of time. This is an excellent way of building suspense, although it also makes me question the logistics of Westworld. How does this insane operation actually work? How can it? The longer you remain within one fictional world, the harder it becomes to suspend your disbelief. Westworld cleverly overcomes this defect by slowly but surely unveiling the conditions that make Westworld possible to its viewers.

Outlander

I’ve been meaning to write a piece about the last episode of Outlander for ages. At first I didn’t because I needed time to gather my thoughts, and then I didn’t because I’d waited too long and the idea had faded. However, an angry rant is still forthcoming, so hold on to your seats. In the mean time, I just want to say that I thought season two was great, although I vastly preferred the Scotland episodes over the France episodes. The truth is, though, that you could make any kind of shitty television with Sam Heughan in a kilt, and I would still watch it eagerly. I mean, look at the guy.

10310998_755526621173216_3691092452272053869_n

Additionally, a great number of TV shows came out in 2016 that I haven’t had a chance to watch yet, even though I’m hoping I will soon. These include:

  • The Crown

  • The Get Down

  • Designated Survivor

  • Stranger Things

  • Luke Cage

What were your favorite shows this year? And what shows are you most looking forward to in 2017?

Leave a Reply

