LGBTQIA Challenge

The LGBTQIA Reading Challenge

Books I read this year with LGBTQIA main characters:

  1. Crush – Richard Siken
  2. Oranges Are Not The Only Fruit – Jeanette Winterson
  3. Maurice – E.M Forster
  4. Giovanni’s Room – James Baldwin
  5. The Thing Around Your Neck – Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie
  6. I read 11 essays in August on the topic of Gender for the Summer School I’m taking at the Radboud University in Nijmegen.
  7. Swing Time – Zadie Smith
  8. Edit: before the end of the year but after this post was published I also read Carry On by Rainbow Rowell

I was aiming for level Yellow, which means I wanted to read between 13 and 20 LGBTQIA books. As you can see, I never got that far. I read eight, which means I made it to level orange. Furthermore, part of the challenge was to write a review for each book, so I’m doing that now and making it into a game. There is only one rule: each review must be exactly ten words long. Here goes nothing.

Crush 

Lovely poetry, sexy and modern, reminds me of my OTPs.

Oranges Are Not The Only Fruit

Being gay in Britain seems hard, especially for a Jehova.

Maurice

I always want to read more about boys at Oxbridge.

Giovanni’s Room

Two men get sick of each other in a room.

The Thing Around Your Neck

Lesbian vibes and post-colonial power relations make good stories.

The 11 essays

I loved my Radboud Summer program and made great friends.

Swing Time

Council estate, postcolonial fame and fortune, bisexual mother. Also, dance.

Carry On

Gay British wizards fall in love at boarding school, yess!

Leave a Reply

