Merry Christmas!

This is a very disorganized post listing all of my favorite Christmas-related pop culture. That means books, film, TV and music. All of these put me in the Christmas spirit Merry Christmas, y’all.

FAVORITE CHRISTMAS SONG OF ALL TIME: Fairytale Of New York by The Pogues & Kirsty MacColl

Kurt & Blaine singing Baby It’s Cold Outside on Glee

Klaine was amongst my very first OTP’s. When this song aired, they hadn’t gotten together yet, and I was so sure they would in the Christmas ep, but then I had to wait even longer… Oh, the torture of being a frenzied fangirl.

 

A Very Sorry Christmas by The New Mendicants

I like this song. And I wanted to share a Christmas song that was not (yet) incredibly well-known, so here we are.

 

Studio 60  season 1, episode O Holy Night

Blogpost(s) about the absolutely crazy amazingness of Studio 60 On The Sunset Strip are forthcoming. I must first finish my West Wing-binge, though, because I can’t handle more than one Sorkin-show at the time. Either way, Christmas is the time for romance and so it is for Jordan and Danny. Damn, I need to watch this again. 

 

The West Wing season 2, episode Noel

As you know 2017 will be all about mental health awareness on this blog, and I have no doubt we will revisit Noel then. It’s The West Wing’s Christmas episode of season two, and it never fails to give me the chills. Its portrayal of PTSD is uncannily accurate, and never was there a more moving bromance than that between Josh and Leo.

 

Leo: “This guy’s walking down the street when he falls in a hole. The walls are so steep he can’t get out.”A doctor passes by and the guy shouts up, ‘Hey you. Can you help me out?’ The doctor writes a prescription, throws it down in the hole and moves on.”Then a priest comes along and the guy shouts up, ‘Father, I’m down in this hole can you help me out?’ The priest writes out a prayer, throws it down in the hole and moves on”Then a friend walks by, ‘Hey, Joe, it’s me can you help me out?’ And the friend jumps in the hole. Our guy says, ‘Are you stupid? Now we’re both down here.’ The friend says, ‘Yeah, but I’ve been down here before and I know the way out.'”

Crazy Ex-Girlfriend season 1, episode My Mom, Greg’s Mom, and Josh’s Sweet Dance Moves!

How hilarious is this?

 

Doctor Who Christmas Special: The Christmas Invasion

Of course no overview of Christmas highlights would be complete without Doctor Who, and The Christmas Invasion is my favorite special ever. Just look at that adorable Tennant-grin. If that doesn’t make you feel like Christmas, you’re just a Scrooge.

 

A Christmas Carol by Charles Dickens

I’m pretty sure it’s illegal to compile a list of Christmassy things and leave this book out, so…

Let It Snow: Three Holiday Romances by John Green, Lauren Myracle en Maureen Johnson

Three fun, lighthearted reads by three of the best contemporary YA writers.

Harry Potter

Everything about the Harry Potter universe smells like Christmas. Pine trees? Check. Gloomy castle with warm fires? Check. Magic? Check. Vague undertones of child abuse and depressing situations? Just look how surprised that boy is that anyone thought to buy him a Christmas present. CHECK. I’ll be crying in a corner over Harry’s childhood traumas.

giphy

 

Christmas Cottage

This is a bad film. It’s boring. Consider yourself warned. It also has Jared Padalecki in a wide array of sweaters, winter coats, scarves and hats. Consider yourself doubly warned.

Love Actually

Duh!

 

I’ve deliberately left out the Black Mirror Christmas special, because that’s just too creepy for me. How did everyone feel about the Sense8 Christmas special? A review will be up soon.

Love and happy holidays,

Frenzied Fangirl

giphy7

 

Leave a Reply

