The Elephant In The Room Or: The End Of Writer’s Block

Just over a week ago I blogged a complaint to my Muse: she had deserted me. Writer’s block had set in and I WAS NOT WRITING. It was a nightmare. Almost as soon as I published the post, a solution presented itself. A short story of mine got shortlisted for the Fantastic Story Competition organized by Dutch Comic Con. Voting ends March 12th. VOTE NOW!

I was surprised by the effect this seemingly insignificant event had on my creativity. I felt validated, I felt wanted, I felt cool. Simultaneously, I felt like a bit of an idiot. It’s a little  childish to only write when you get positive feedback on your work, and then, when you feel as though you’re not getting enough positive feedback, to just…quit.

I want to be a writer. I mean to say: I want to make writing into a career. I want to be a person who makes a living by writing stuff. That doesn’t just mean blogging on topics I feel passionate about on moments I feel passionate about them. Sometimes it means just sitting down to do the work, which is why I’m pledging to do at least one blogpost a week from now on. Wish me luck.

There are, however, two sides to every problem, and sometimes there’s an infinite number of sides. Here’s one side: part of the reason I haven’t been blogging is because I’ve been busy. I’m a full-time university student now. I also have a job as a Latin tutor. On top of all that, I have an attempt at a social life. I simply don’t have the time to write as much as I’d like to.

I’ve argued before that there’s no such thing as a free lunch, when I got rid of my Spotify account. Consider that whenever you’re getting something for free, someone somewhere is paying the price. In the case of Findings Of A Frenzied Fangirl, that person is me. I invest my time and energy and I do so willingly and enthusiastically because this blog has brought me nothing but joy and valuable life experience. However, I don’t think it’s crazy to ask that the people who are able to afford it, the people who love this blog and want to see it continue, think about making a small donation to my Paypal. The money will primarily go to making this blog ad-free and buying myself books to review for you. If you want me to review a specific book or do something else specific with your money, just let me know!

Leave a Reply

