Happy International Kissing Day

Oscar Wilde: “the curve of  your lips rewrites history”

You got that right. Today, July 6th 2017, is International Kissing Day. The perfect time for Frenzied Fangirl to list some of her favorite kisses in pop culture. Why? Well why the hell not?

For a fuller experience, check out the playlist I made of all my favorite songs about kissing.

UNDER NO CIRCUMSTANCES IS MY BEST FRIEND LILA TO ENTER THIS BLOG POST. IT HAS MANY WONDERFUL SCENES IN IT THAT SHE STILL NEEDS TO EXPERIENCE IN THEIR FULL GLORY, NOT CHOPPED UP INTO GIFS.

Lila, love, the first one is Dean & Rory – Gilmore Girls. You know it already. Do not click the “Read more” link!

Josh & Donna – The West Wing

The only reason this is my fave is because I had to wait for it for seven seasons. Nothing else is special about it. I had hoped for a Sorkinesque climax of romantic banter.

kissjoshanddonna

 

Jordan & Danny – Studio 60 on the Sunset Strip

When I say “Sorkinesque climax of romantic banter,” this is exactly what I mean.

 

Hermione & Ron – Harry Potter & the Deathly Hallows (Part II)

I know Harry Potter isn’t primarily about romance. I wasn’t born yesterday. But I want to bet I wasn’t the only one who squealed a little squeal of joy in the movie theatre when this scene took place. Haters gonna hate, but I think Hermione and Ron are perfect for each other.

 

Ned & Chuck – Pushing Daisies

This will forever remain my bittersweet OTP. It had so much unfulfilled potential in every sense of the phrase. I’m still keeping my fingers crossed for a Netflix revival. Stranger things have happened.

75

Benny & Joon 

This was my favorite movie as a tween, and it still holds a special place in my heart. First of all, Benny & Joon gives an excellent, truthful portrayal of mental illness. Of course, my 11-year-old self wasn’t very aware of that, but it also has Johnny Depp being a complete cutiepie. And this scene is just the epitome of sweetness.

 

The Princess Bride by William Goldman

I wouldn’t be Frenzied Fangirl if I didn’t also have some written kisses in my list. My favorite is this one:

“Since the invention of the kiss, there have only been five kisses that were rated the most passionate, the most pure. This one left them all behind.”

Jamie & Claire – Outlander

Not the sweetest kiss. Not even the most romantic. But definitely the sexiest.

kissclairejamie

The Kiss by Sara Teasdale (my favorite poem about kissing)

I hoped that he would love me,
And he has kissed my mouth,
But I am like a stricken bird
That cannot reach the south.

For though I know he loves me,
To-night my heart is sad;
His kiss was not so wonderful
As all the dreams I had.

Lito & Hernando on the beach – Sense8

And here is my current all-time favorite kiss: Lito & Hernando on the beach in L.A. If you look for the phrase “OTP” in the dictionary, this is what you’ll find. Never has a fictional couple been this perfect for each other. They’re so in love, they’re mutually supportive, they’re smart, they’re funny, and they are the sexiest. Most importantly, they have a hell of a lot of fun together, as you can see in this scene.

 

Happy international kissing day, everyone, and don’t forget to kiss the people you love today!

One thought on “Happy International Kissing Day

Leave a Reply

